The monastery of Panagia Tourliani, located near the village of Ano Mera, was built in the 16th century by two monks who had traveled to Mykonos from the monastery of Ikatontapiliani on the island of Paros. During the 17th and 18th century the monastery was renovated and expanded and remains one of the most important historical attractions on the island.
Visitors to the monastery will no doubt appreciate the interesting architecture, which includes a beautifully carved marble belltower and marble fountain. The interior of the monastery is richly decorated and contains displays of valuable ancient icons. The wooden iconostasis (altar screen) was made in 1775 and features small icons between painted red, green and gold flowers. Carved figures of the apostles and icons depicting New Testament scenes are also found in the monastery, as well as decorative hanging incense holders, embroideries and other religiously themed items.
The monastery is dedicated to the patron saint of the island, Panagia Tourliani, and on the 15th of August each year a celebration is held in her honor.
For a fascinating glimpse into the history of Mykonos, it is worth including a visit to the monastery of Panagia Tourliani in an island tour.
Pictures courtesy of Bernard Gagnon at Wikimedia Commons